A More Beautiful Question Sketchnote

After reading the first chapter of “A More Beautiful Question” by Warren Berger I have been trying to figure out how to blog about it. Then I was in the library and our librarian was preparing a lesson on Sketchnoting for the kids. I picked up The Sketchnote Handbook and started reading. Before I knew it I was on Chapter 4! Then it hit me, I could sketchnote the first chapter!

So if you click on the picture above you will see what I took from the chapter. It has been several weeks since I read it, but thankfully I had marked passages very well to remind myself what I wanted to remember.

One of the things that I really liked is that idea that people with “questioning” minds see change as an adventure. That resonated with me because I am that is how I see most change.

I also loved the graph that pointed out that with the rise of technology allowing the answers to questions to be easier to obtain, the value of knowing those answers is decreasing and the value of asking good questions is increasing. I think that this is really what the PYP is trying to instill in our students.

The other thing that stuck with me is that if we give the brain time to think, it will usually find solutions and “Aha moments”. One thing that I personally have experienced is that there are people who see my processing speed as a detriment to this. They think that I am not giving my brain time. What they don’t realize is that I do give my brain time to think, but my brain needs less time than theirs. It doesn’t mean that my ideas are less developed it just means that I process faster. It also doesn’t mean that I don’t continue to process and think it through and develop it. – Sorry bit of a rant there!

One other thing was the Questions + Action = Innovation. The action being an equal component to the questions. Asking good questions is great but if you don’t take any action then what are you really doing?

One thought on “A More Beautiful Question Sketchnote

Leave a Reply

