Using Explain Everything to Track Reading Progress

A couple of years ago I saw an idea of using Explain Everything to track reading. I have been working on getting teachers to try this since, but this year I managed to get it started in 3 grades. Each year we have 3 two week long assessment blocks. During those weeks I used my IT time to complete this project with the students. 
 

I recently finished up with the Grade Two class. It was amazing to see them whizz through putting their third reading into their Explain Everything in just one lesson. 

I have also been building these in grade one as well. Here is an example of two students. One who is in our EAL program and one who is not. I ask the EAL students to use their reading books given them by their EAL teacher since they are designed to build their English vocabulary and fluency.

I began in grade one by taking students one at a time out into the hallway with their books. We recorded the introduction slide and their reading. 

For the second round I had the students add the “March Reading” slide, take pictures of their books, insert the books into their project and record their reading through 3 guided lessons following me as I instructed them with help from a partner. 

For the third round I had the students add the “May Reading” slide, take pictures of their books and insert the books in one lesson. The following lesson I reminded them all of how to complete their recoding and send them off to record.

In grade two I had the students add the “October Reading” slide, take pictures of their books, insert the books into their project and record their reading through 3 guided lessons following me as I instructed them with help from a partner. 

The second time we recorded we were able to add the “March Reading” slide, take pictures of their books and insert the books in one lesson.

The third time I simply reminded them of what they needed to do and they completed it all in one lesson. 

I look forward to seeing one of these progress through another year as I think it will be an amazing sampling of how a student reads. 

Leave a Reply

